So, the trip was pretty bad. We woke up at 2:45 and waited for the other car full of Africans. They didn't show up until 4. Then we began the long trek back to Bangui. The first half is the worst with the dirt roads and the large craters in the road. I tried to lay down in the back but it is impossible to sleep on that half. But I kept getting sick...so I would sit up to watch the road. Yet, my head was so heavy I could not hold it up so then I would lay back down again....I didn't sleep but I couldn't hold myself up. We drove on the bad roads for 6 hours and only went 124 miles. That means we were moving at an average of 20 miles per hour...talk about exhausting. Than we still had another 7 hours to go the remaining 248 miles on paved roads....it took a total of 13 hours. We arrived at 5 pm. Although on the second half, I was able to actually sleep a little in the back as the road is paved...it still has some large pot holes but paved all the same.
Than I hung out with the missionary couple in the compound we stay at. That was an interesting night...I was tired and I found myself bitting my tongue at a few comments. Still, it was very nice to have new people to hang with and not talk about work. We played cards and just enjoyed the company.
Today, I woke up read a book, finished most of the analysis of Bangui's financial records, and then I headed over to our second office to work on the internet. The internet at the compound with our housing and office is supposed to have internet but it isn't working. Which is kinda sad because I won't be able to connect as easily with friends and family.
The next 4 days will probably be a blur...I have a ton of meetings. I am leaving on Thursday in the evening....oh man, I am so excited to be home. I think my next trip (if I have one) will be 2 weeks. I am getting all the large stuff down and will just need check up trips which should require as much time. That will be nice.
Sunday, October 5, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment